Red Velvet Cupcakes

Tasty Red Velvet Cupcakes

Vegan red velvet cupcakes that incorporate red beets for added iron

I consider myself a very experimental person when it comes to food. I grew up eating tons of different cuisines – Indian, Greek, Chinese, Thai, Japanese etc. By the age of 8, I could confidently use chopsticks, order tandoori chicken, and knew my favorite dim sum dishes ‘Ha gao’ and ‘Law Bok Gow’.  So you can say that I pride myself on eating almost everything (except for nuts of course, but not out of choice).

So lately when I heard from so many sources how healthy red beets were, I thought I would easily grow to like them and include them more in my diet. NOT SO! I am really struggling. I find that unless I dowse these babies in vinegar, I can’t really get used to the taste. I find that when other people prepare them I like it, but when I try to incorporate them into my salads, the whole thing ends up tasting like beets! So I’ve had to find ways to disguise them into my cooking – hence red velvet cupcakes!

These cupcakes are disguised as the classic red velvet cupcake but instead get their color from beets. This way I kill two birds with one stone – chocolate fix and a much needed iron boost.

Try these out. Super easy. I imagine these would be great for kids.

*Note: I prepared the beets by washing them and then boiling them (skin included) in hot water, until a folk easily goes through. The outer skin then slides off easily.

What you need: 

1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon of baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup of sugar (I tried using agave in my first batch, and it came out too gooey)

1/8 teaspoon of salt

1 tablespoon of unsweetened coco powder

1 cup of rice milk or any non-dairy milk you prefer

1 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar or white vinegar

1/4 cup of coconut oil

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/3 cup of pureed beets (boiled in water, skin peeled, and pureed)

What to do: 

Preheat oven to 175C.

Mix together all your dry ingredients together in a big bowl: Flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, salt and coco powder.

In a separate bowl, whisk together rice milk, white vinegar, coconut oil, vanilla extract and pureed beets.

Add your wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix together until everything is full absorbed.

Add about a tablespoon of the mixture to each muffin cup and bake for approximately 20 to 25 minutes.

*Note: I added some chocolate sprinkles on top before baking, giving the muffins and extra sweetness and crunch on top.

Serve hot with a side of coffee, and enjoy!

A little fancy snack at work

A fix for my 3 o’clock sugar crave at work

3 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cupcakes

  1. love beets !
    2 questions:
    1/4 of coconut oil – cup or table spoon…?
    1/3 of pureed beets – you mean 1/3 of a cup?

Leave a Reply

